Media Releases

Sheed welcomes expanded school meal program

August 26, 2019

Independent Member for Shepparton District Suzanna Sheed has welcomed last week’s announcement that eleven more schools in Greater Shepparton will be joining the School Breakfast Club program.

“This is a very good initiative. The evidence clearly shows that hungry children find it difficult to study, learn at a slower rate and are prone to be disruptive in class. Feeding children at school is a wonderful initiative particularly given that there are circumstances where children, for many and varied reasons, may miss out on breakfast before arriving at school,” Ms Sheed said.

The program will be expanded to include many public secondary campuses in 2020 on top of the 17 primary schools already involved in the initiative.

At a cost of $58 million, the program will also be expanded to include lunches and school holiday meals for students in need.

Greater Shepparton already possesses a community driven program that provides nutritious food for students at Mooroopna Park Primary School.

“I have little doubt that the introduction of school lunches over time will also be welcomed. In our own community Mooroopna Park Primary School has already introduced this initiative in conjunction with Food Share and the Greater Shepparton Lighthouse Project,” Ms Sheed said.

“The food is being provided by food share and the school has a chef coming in to cook a healthy lunch for all children. Teachers are reporting better concentration and outcomes as a result of this program”.

List of schools in Greater Shepparton currently part of the School Breakfast Club program:


  • Ardmona Primary School
  • Bourchier Street Primary School Shepparton
  • Dookie Primary School
  • Gowrie Street Primary School Shepparton
  • Katunga Primary School
  • Katunga South Primary School
  • Lemnos Primary School
  • Mooroopna Park Primary School
  • Mooroopna Primary School
  • Nathalia Primary School
  • Numurkah Primary School
  • St Georges Road Primary School Shepparton
  • Strathmerton Primary School
  • Verney Road School
  • Waaia Yalca South Primary School
  • Wilmot Road Primary School Shepparton
  • Wunghnu Primary School


Schools in Greater Shepparton that are in the next tranche of schools to join in 2020:


  • Congupna Primary School
  • Guthrie Street Primary School Shepparton
  • Katandra West Primary School
  • McGuire College
  • Mooroopna North Primary School
  • Mooroopna Secondary College
  • Nathalia Secondary College
  • Numurkah Secondary College
  • Orrvale Primary School
  • Shepparton East Primary School
  • Shepparton High School
  • Tatura Primary School
  • Wanganui Park Secondary College


Media contact

Myles Peterson 0467 035 840│

Click here for PDF version

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.